

Richard Nakamura, PhD National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review 6701 Rockledge Drive MSC 7768 Bethesda MD 20892-7768

December 9, 2016

Dear Dr. Nakamura,

I am writing to you on behalf of the Endocrine Society regarding the review of cancer-related grants involving nuclear receptors (NRs). Founded in 1916, the Endocrine Society is the world's oldest, largest and most active organization devoted to research on hormones and the clinical practice of endocrinology. Our membership of over 18,000 includes basic researchers, clinical researchers, and clinicians in practice. Our researcher members include many of the world's leading experts in the science of hormone receptors and their relevance to hormone-dependent and hormone-related cancers.

We have noticed that the number of NR-cancer grants assigned to the Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology (MCE) study section has been declining. Instead, cancer-related grants involving NRs are being assigned to other study sections, such as Tumor Cell Biology (TCB) or Molecular Oncogenesis (MONC). MCE's roster includes members with expertise in nuclear receptor and hormone biology, whereas other study sections lack sufficient depth of expertise to evaluate the scientific merit of research proposals in hormone-dependent cancers involving NRs. Additionally, many grants are being sent to Special Emphasis Panels (SEPs); the makeup of these is highly variable and it is not clear that sufficient expertise for rigorous review of NR-cancer grants is available for all panels. This, in turn, may discourage potential study section members from agreeing to serve on a study section, for fear of inconsistent review of their own grants by a SEP. In summary, the grant assignment process is distributing grants involving NRs to numerous study sections, oftentimes with ad hoc members to cover limitations in expertise. This may dilute the expertise needed to review such grants and to rank their relative merit.

NR-cancer grants involve common core topics, such as nuclear receptor biology, physiology, and pathophysiology, regardless of disease, that require a dedicated and knowledgeable cadre of peer reviewers. We believe that the most effective way to provide a fair review is for CSR 1) to identify the study sections to which NR-cancer grants should be assigned, for example, TCB and MONC, and 2) to ensure that sufficient expertise in the field of nuclear receptors to evaluate these grants is present in these study sections. A consistent approach that reviews most, if not all, of these

2055 L Street NW Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 T. 202.971.3636 F. 202.736.9705 endocrine.org



proposals with the same metrics and based on the stage of progression of cancer should enhance the ability to select the highest quality in the field.

To clarify how NR-cancer grants are treated, and to help identify the appropriate study sections to manage these grants, we recommend that CSR study and assess grants in this subject area, and use the results of the assessment to identify the appropriate study sections that will be tasked with managing each subset of NR-cancer grants. On the web page for these study sections, a phrase included in the "topics" section should clearly articulate that such grants are appropriate for those panels. For example, there are no study sections that currently list "studies dealing with mechanisms of hormone receptor action in hormone-driven cancers" as part of the topics they regularly review.

As you know, the Endocrine Society regularly submits lists of grant reviewers to CSR and many SROs for endocrine-related study sections. In the Appendix, we provide a more specialized list of U.S. based senior investigators with expertise in NR-cancer research who are Endocrine Society members. We hope that you find this list useful for recruiting study section members with expertise in NR and cancer for the designated study sections.

The Endocrine Society appreciates the role of CSR in supporting the work done by our basic and clinical research communities. We hope that the proposal outline above represents a constructive approach to ensure that NR-cancer grants receive an equitable review. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss this proposal with you in an in-person meeting. To set up such a meeting, please do not hesitate to contact Joseph Laakso, Associate Director of Science Policy at jlaakso@endocrine.org.

Sincerely,

Henry Kimenlier

Henry Kronenberg, MD President Endocrine Society



APPENDIX

Name	e-mail	Affiliation
Orla Conneely	orlac@bcm.edu	Baylor College of Medicine
Donald McDonnell	donald.mcdonnell@duke.edu	Duke University School of Medicine
Suzanne Fuqua	fuqua@bcm.edu	Baylor College of Medicine
Nancy Weigel	nweigel@bcm.edu	Baylor College of Medicine
Corinne Silva	silvacm@mail.nih.gov	NIH/NIDDK
Carol Sartorius	Carol.Sartorius@ucdenver.edu	University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Inez Rogatsky	rogatskyi@hss.edu	Will Medical College of Cornell University
Jennifer Richer	jennifer.richer@ucdenver.edu	University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Myles Brown	myles_brown@dfci.harvard.edu	Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Steffi Oesterreich	oesterreichs@upmc.edu	University of Pittsburgh
Ellis Levin	ellis.levin@va.gov	Long Beach VA Medical Center
Carol Lange	lange047@umn.edu	University of Minnesota
Anastasia Kralli	kralli@scripps.edu	The Scripps Research Institute
Jorge Iniguez-Lluhi	iniguez@umich.edu	University of Michigan Medical School
Bryan Haugen	bryan.haugen@ucdenver.edu	University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Kerry Burnstein	kburnstein@med.miami.edu	University of Miami
Michael Garabedian	michael.garabedian@nyumc.org	New York University School of Medicine
Theresa Guise	tguise@iupui.edu	Indiana University
Charles Clevenger	Charles.Clevenger@vcuhs.org	Virginia Commonwealth University Health System
Susan Kasper	susan.kasper@uc.edu	University of Cincinnati
Halgeir Rui	hrui@mcw.edu	Medical College of Wisconsin



Scott Dehm	dehm@umn.edu	University of Minnesota
Cheryl L Walker	cwalker@ibt.tamhsc.edu	Texas A&M Health Science Center
Ruth Keri	rak5@cwru.edu	Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Steven Anderson	steve.anderson@ucdenver.edu	University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Lee Kraus	LEE.KRAUS@utsouthwestern.e	University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Ron Koenig	rkoenig@umich.edu	University of Michigan Medical Center
Francesco DeMayo	demayofj@niehs.nih.gov	NIH/NIEHS
Susan Logan	susan.logan@nyumc.org	New York University School of Medicine
Gail Prins	gprins@uic.edu	University of Illinois - Chicago
Dan Frigo	frigo@uh.edu	University of Houston
Rebecca Schweppe	rebecca.schweppe@ucdenver.ed u	University of Colorado School of Medicine
Matt Ringel	matthew.ringel@osumc.edu	The Ohio State University
Diane Robins	drobins@umich.edu	University of Michigan School of Medicine
Dan Gioeli	dgg3f@virginia.edu	University of Virginia
JoAnne Richards	joanner@bcm.edu	Baylor College of Medicine
Stephen Hammes	stephen_hammes@urmc.rochest er.edu	University of Rochester
Andrea Gore	andrea.gore@austin.utexas.edu	University of Texas at Auston
Terri Wood	terri.wood@rutgers.edu	New Jersey Medical School/RBHS
Peggy Shupnik	mas3x@virginia.edu	University of Virginia School of Medicine
Douglas Yee	yeexx006@umn.edu	Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota
Karen Knudsen	karen.knudsen@jefferson.edu	Thomas Jefferson University
Tiffany Seagroves	tseagroves@ucsd.edu	University of California - San Diego



Dorraya El Ashrey	del-ashry@med.miami.edu	University of Miami
Elaine Alarid	alarid@oncology.wisc.edu	University of Wisconsin - Madison
Carolyn Alexander	cjoya77@yahoo.com	Cedars-Sinai Medical Center